4 New Members to be Inducted Into the Ontario Squash Hall of Fame

Toronto, Ontario

January 7, 2022

It is a great pleasure for the Board of Governors to announce that four extraordinary individuals will be inducted into the Ontario Squash Hall of Fame in 2022.

The Board congratulates Murray Christison, who will be inducted as a Builder.  He had a singular vision of growing the game in Ontario not just through building squash clubs, of which he built 3, but also recognizing very early on in the 1980’s, that Ontario had to bring the world to Ontario.  This gave our own athletes an opportunity to measure their game against international players in their home town.

The Board also congratulates Leslie Freeman, who holds 22 Ontario titles, 18 Canadian titles, 3 World titles and one US Open Mixed Doubles title.  In addition, for many years, she worked to introduce and develop doubles throughout the province.  She served on many tournament committees over a span of 20 years.  She will be inducted as a Player/Volunteer.

We also recognize the extraordinary achievements of Penny Glover as a Referee/Volunteer.  Penny’s commitment to the refereeing program in both Ontario and Canada spans several decades.  She has delivered 100s of rules clinics and refereed at the highest levels of competitive squash.  Penny also served on numerous committees.

And we also congratulate Patrick Richardson who will be inducted into the Hall of Fame as a Coach/Volunteer.  As the squash professional at the Toronto Cricket, Skating & Curling Club, Pat ran the gold standard of junior programs and many – so many of his young juniors, went on to achieve extraordinary success at the Ontario, Canadian and world levels.  Equally impressive are the number of volunteer hours he gave to running a multitude of tournaments, from juniors to world doubles.

The 2022 Induction Ceremony is scheduled for April 28th and will be hosted by The Granite Club in Toronto.  For ticket information, please contact Squash Ontario at https://www.squashontario.com/tournaments-editor/2022/4/28/ontario-squash-hall-of-fame-induction-ceremony.


Anne Smith, Chair

Rob Brooks

Sherry Funston

Penny Glover

Peter Hall

Tony Swift

Comments are closed.